Sunday, October 9, 2016

MMGM (10/10/2016): Wishing Day by Lauren Myracle

P.S. I have changed the color palette of my blog slightly. I hope you like it!

For MMGM, I'm recommending Wishing Day by Lauren Myracle.




Here's the publisher's description:

From beloved and bestselling author Lauren Myracle comes the first book in an enchanting trilogy about three sisters, the magic of traditions, and the extraordinary power of hope. This heartwarming, timeless story is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Ingrid Law.
On the third night of the third month after a girl’s thirteenth birthday, every girl in the town of Willow Hill makes three wishes.
The first wish is an impossible wish.
The second is a wish she can make come true herself.
And the third is the deepest wish of her secret heart.
Natasha is the oldest child in a family steeped in magic, though she’s not sure she believes in it. She’s full to bursting with wishes, however. She misses her mother, who disappeared nearly eight long years ago. She has a crush on one of the cutest boys in her class, and she thinks maybe it would be nice if her very first kiss came from him. And amid the chaos of a house full of sisters, aunts, and a father lost in grief, she aches to simply be . . . noticed.
So Natasha goes to the willow tree at the top of the hill on her Wishing Day, and she makes three wishes. What unfolds is beyond anything she could have imagined. 

At the bookstore, I always look for books with nice covers, and then I read the flap description. If the description is interesting, then I buy it. This book has a fabulous cover, and I'm glad I purchased it. It's great! Firstly, something not mentioned in the summary is that, in the story, Natasha receives mysterious notes, which, in the beginning, compliment her. The mystery of who these notes are from is interspersed throughout the book, and is just one of the many elements in the book. Natasha and her 2 sisters have very different personalities. Natasha is quiet and, despite having a best friend, mainly introverted. Her younger sister, Darya, is popular and somewhat mean, while the youngest sister, Ava, is somewhat naive but very nice. At the end of the book, an interesting twist changes the ending of the book from what is expected to a great surprise, unlike many other books. All in all, Wishing Day is a fabulous read like no other!


8 comments:

  1. This one is on my TBR list. Thanks for your thoughts as it makes me want to start reading it soon.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Love the color palette! This book is one I have, just haven't had time to read it yet. I'm excited to do so.

    ReplyDelete
  3. My daughter is a fan of Lauren's books. I'll have to recommend this one. Thanks. BTW, lovely new color scheme.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've heard good things about this one elsewhere. But I really thought the mysterious notes sounds intriguing. I'll be looking for this one.

    ReplyDelete
  5. The cover is gorgeous. And the story has me intrigued. Sold. Got to read this one.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love the cover too. It reminds me of the covers of Saving Lucas Biggs, a favorite of mine. This book sounds very good. I will have to check it out. Thanks for telling me about it.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Cover IS beautiful... and has such a familiar feel to it. Will have to check this one out.

    ReplyDelete
  8. The colors look great! Very soothing.

    Have you nominated for the Cybils award? Only two days left! http://www.cybils.com/2016/10/and-go-cybils-nominations-are-open.html

    ReplyDelete